Wise Women

 

So I was at the library the other day searching for books on iconographic art, Madonnas, basically anything in the religious type art category. While combing through the book shelves (who needs to use a card catalog…..well, whatever they call it nowadays) I came across this book –

 

Now, you tell me, how can anybody NOT take this book off a shelf and look through it? The woman’s face spoke to me  – there was to be a message in this book. Come to find out, it’s not just one message, but many messages by many different women – all older (and I do mean older in some cases).

The book is Wise Women by Joyce Tenneson and it is full of incredibly beautiful photographs of women in their twilight years. I do not know how a photographer can capture such emotion and feeling, but Joyce Tenneson has done that in this collection of photographs. It gave me chills to look at these women. They stared off the page at me. They spoke to me – some whispering, some yelling, some laughing. Each had a tidbit of wisdom to share – some gem learned through their many years of life.

I don’t know if it’s because I am the ripe age of 41, but I read the words of these women and took them to heart. I studied their faces, their bodies, their wrinkles. Of course the whole time I’m thinking “Is this what I will look like at that age?” I wonder if I will embrace age as beautifully as these women have – I sincerely hope so.

Here is one of my favorite photos from the book of a 93-year-old woman. She says “I can still remember what it feels like to love with all my heart”. Love seems to be radiating from her. That’s what I want for myself as I begin this aging journey – love with all my heart & let it shine through my face.

 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wise Women

  1. Jen Wynter says:

    Hiya! Thanks so much for the very lovely words about the Eddie Izzard doco post. It’s so heartening and encouraging and I really appreciate it! I’m inspired also by the “Wise Women” book, how gorgeous. Also one of your artworks below reminds me so much of a photo I took for another project over here: http://www.smallhandsbighearts.wordpress.com

    So bizarre!

    PS I love your owl.

    x

    • Thanks for directing me to the photo on your other blog – happy to know about that one too! Yes….uncanny simalirities (minus the multi-color thing happening). I’m a little hooked on owls at the moment – good to know someone else likes them! All my best to you!

Leave a Reply

