Ode to my diabetic boy

My 14-year-old son is type one diabetic – has been for almost ten years. And yes, it does suck – on so many levels. But we try to stay positive and grateful that this is a manageable disease and that somehow, someday this will make him a stronger person. Sounds good right? Trust me – it’s hard for me to remember all that positive mumbo gumbo on most days. Especially on days when he stands in front of the food cupboard grazing like a cow. When I ask him to please stop eating or slow down, he digs in his heels, throws back his head and bellows “I’m hungry!”. Honestly, I wish I had a dime for every time I heard that phrase – I could be typing this on a brand new lap top with all those dimes.

So finally around Christmas time I got so fed up with it that I decided to make him a gift that would forever capture this moment. Now mind you I do not draw or paint (like really paint – i.e. texture, depth, etc.) so this is the best I could come up with. A cartoon version of my hungry diabetic boy. It got quite the smile when he opened it at Christmas – the kind of 14-year-old boy smile that says “I really love this, but I’m too cool to tell you so.”  It was one of those times that art helped bring a little humor to a really tense topic. Now every time he yells “I’m hungry” he catches himself and we both have a little chuckle thinking of his cartoon self.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ode to my diabetic boy

  1. Victoria Thoreson says:

    Toria thinks it is wonderful to capture the moment of his teen years. She admires the artist.

Leave a Reply

